New IRON MAIDEN (Studio Side Project: PRR)














Iron Maiden guitarist Adrian Smith & former SikTh front-man Mikee Goodman have joined forces for a brand new studio project called PRIMAL ROCK REBELLION.

Oftentimes, musicians—especially established ones—like to stay within their musical comfort zone and prefer to walk the tried and true path rather than breaking out in search of new pastures. Primal Rock Rebellion doesn’t fit that bill!

The is a project of UK musicians with different stories to tell, a project that is attempting to be both reassuring and unexpected at the same time. On the one side, there’s Adrian, a key member of Iron Maiden (a band he first joined back in 1980) and since that time, Maiden has gone on to become one of the biggest hard rock bands the world has ever seen, playing to vast crowds all over the world, while opening new doors in parts of the globe many people will never even have heard of! Their last studio album, The Final Frontier, hit the number one slot in over 28 countries.

With Maiden’s reputation having been forged through their ability to blend well-crafted vocal & guitar melodies with the sheer brute force of prime heavy metal, it will surely come as no surprise that the début Primal Rock Rebellion album, Awoken Broken, delivers fully on both fronts, but with an extra nod to the underground, the alternative and the downright edgy—an aspect of the music that is enhanced from start to finish by the presence of ex-SikTh front man  Mikee Goodman. Generally speaking, this is a more mature and experienced Mikee, showcasing a strong, melodic voice plus an impressive vocal range, using the more “adventurous” end of his repertoire as a way of providing contrast and effect.

In essence, Primal Rock Rebellion is the meeting of different minds, different mentalities and different musical backgrounds, but the result is very much a cohesive, self-produced whole… albeit one that reflects the individual talents of the musicians involved: Adrian provides the guitars, the bass and the advanced song-writing skills—the sense of drama, of light and shade, of music designed to stir the senses, all of them.

Right from the start, it’s been very much a labor of love.

“It was great working at my own pace and in my studio with no time constraints. I think during the making of this album I went around the world twice with Maiden, working on the project in between. In the process, it allowed for a bit more of an experimental approach.”

~ Adrian

Meanwhile, Mikee goes head to head with this renowned player as a full writing & production partner, adding new (sometimes surprising, often experimental) layers to the tracks, and ensuring that the music glistens with an inherent contemporary sheen.

“Adrian inspired me in many ways. I learnt the importance and the power of choruses in songs. Adrian also gave me a lot more belief in myself melodically. I think we pulled each other out of our comfort zones, creating something fresh and exciting along the way. We co-produced the album together, and the whole recording process was very relaxed—no deadlines, just honing the songs naturally as we recorded them, a new experience for both of us.”

~ Mikee

IN ADDITION to the Primal Rock Rebellion pair, there are backing vocals on three of the tracks (delivered by Tarin Kerry, discovered by Mikee while he was acting as producer for a band she was in), viola on the bulk of the songs (provided by Abi Fry of Bat For Lashes), plus original SikTh member Dan ‘Loord’ Foord on drums.

The album was produced by Adrian and Mikee, and mixed by Simon Hanhart, whose previous credits include everyone from Tin Machine to Saxon. The album features 12 tracks and it will be available on digi-pak CD, digital download and double coloured vinyl in gatefold sleeve.

1. No Friendly Neighbour 4.53
2. No Place Like Home 3.06
3. I See Lights 4.59
4. Bright As A Fire 6.21
5. Savage World 3.38
6. Tortured Tone 5.08
7. White Sheet Robes 5.16
8. As Tears Come Falling From The Sky 0.47
9. Awoken Broken 4.58
10. Search For Bliss 4.13
11. Snake Ladders 4.43
12. Mirror and the Moon 5.04



Their début album, Awoken Broken, will be released on 27th February 2012 through Spinefarm Records.

You can hear and download the album track I See Lights below.


Speak Your Mind

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s